Posted by: paigeturner123 | September 27, 2009

Chronicle of my thyroid


So, I’ve decided to start my blog back up. This time it is on a bit of a somber note, but I hope this will help me to be more optimistic with the news I recently received about my thyroid. I have been diagnosed with thyroid cancer. At this point, I do not have any more information. I don’t know what type of thyroid cancer I have, but hopefully I have one of the two highly curable kinds and surgery will be enough to kick it. It has spread to some lymph nodes, but again I don’t know how many or if it has spread anywhere else. Chances are good that it is just in my neck and surgery will take care of it. For some of my friends who do not regularly go to the doctor for their annual check-ups, please do. That is the only reason I found the nodule in my thyroid. My gynecologist checked my neck and thyroid as a routine thing (not all do this, so ask them to) and found it.

I will keep posting as I know more. I have to keep reminding myself that I have no control over this and that the only thing that I have control over now is my outlook on life (which needs to remain positive) and my diet, exercising, and just simply living and enjoying the people that I love and that love me. I have a lot of those people in my life and I am fortunate to have them (you).

Disclaimer: Since this is the internet and it is super easy for me to get on here and start posting things, however emotional I might be, you’ll have to excuse any of my post that may seem overly dramatic. This is the nature of instant access etc.

No matter what, I will have my sense of humor, my opinions to give, and a soft spot for dogs. This isn’t over yet and I don’t intend for it to be any time soon. Encouraging words are always helpful. Thank you for all of your support and help in this difficult time for me.

Responses

  1. I think this is a great way for you to chronicle your journey and share with the people that care so much for you. I’m so looking forward to being with you and giving you the hug that I have been holding since the minute you called me on Thursday. It is so difficult for me to be this far away. I love you, Mom

  2. Thanks for the link to your blog! I, for one, do not think you are being overly dramatic. This rates pretty high up there as far as “dramatic life events” go.

    I read a bit about thyroid cancer and was reassured that it is, in the vast majority of cases, highly curable. Almost everyone who gets it recovers from it and goes on to live a long, normal life!

    Anyway, you will soon know more about your particular case. It must be awful waiting, so it’s good that you have this outlet. . . .

    Talk to you soon!


Leave a Reply

Categories

