Posted by: paigeturner123 | October 1, 2009

Dr. Shindo!


Dr. Shindo is awesome! I met with her today. I really like her and know she will do a great job. She recommended that I get my entire thyroid taken out and all of the lymph nodes on the right side of my neck taken out. She said that I will probably have some numbness in my neck after surgery (possibly forever). I will probably be in the hospital for 2-3 days, but it could be up to 5 depending on my calcium levels and other things. It is going to be an ordeal, but my life expectancy will not diminish unless they find more concerning things when they go in and look around during surgery. I had a chest x-ray and a CT scan of my neck done today. That was pretty quick and good to get out of the way. My next visit will be the pre-op appointment.

Iā€™m hoping to schedule the surgery for the beginning of November (just around the time when I had my gall bladder out 3 years ago, yay!). After the surgery I will meet regularly with an endocrinologist, Linda Lester (I also got to meet her today and like her) who will administer the synthetic thyroid dosage and recommend any other physical therapy etc. that I may need after surgery.

My mom was a huge help, diligently taking notes and asking questions at the right times.

Thanks to everyone who is thinking good thoughts. I love you guys!

I will probably start calling people back next week.

Responses

  1. I’m glad you have a good doctor! That’s very reassuring.

  2. Overall that seems like really good news! I hope you don’t have soreness in your neck forever, though.

  3. Sending many positive thoughts your way! Just think about all the reading you’ll get done while recuperating. Or, and I’m just throwing this out there, you could always start watching Lost. šŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

Categories

