Posted by: paigeturner123 | October 23, 2009

Pre-Op


I had my pre-op appointment today. Radcliffe came with me. I’m glad he did. I felt a lot better having him there. I got a little freaked out when they were putting a scope up into my nose. It came out in my mouth and I sort of gagged once. It was not a big deal though.

My X-ray came back fine. My CT scan showed a small 9 mm something in one of my left lymph nodes(this was the one that came back benign from the biopsy), but Dr. Shindo said they weren’t going to take out the left lymph nodes just yet. I asked if the Radioactive Iodine would possibly kill and cancer cells in that lymph node and she said that that is what they are hoping for. We will just have to keep monitoring it. I decided to schedule the Radioactive iodine treatment in December. It’s going to suck, the diet is very restrictive for the two weeks before the treatment and during treatment, but I bet I’ll lose some weight.

Nothing too exciting to report. I had an EKG for my heart and everything was fine, slightly irregular, but more just normal-irregular. they took some blood to check my blood type and that was that. I got some paperwork to look over in preparation for the surgery.

I will have to call the Dr. office to ask more questions about the surgery. They didn’t have the check-in information yet. I might not have it until the day before so we will see.

Here we go…

Leave a Reply

Categories

