Posted by: paigeturner123 | October 25, 2009

Book/Movie suggestions?


Ok, so I need some good book and movie suggestions for when I am recovering from my

thyroid/lymph node surgery. Movies that I can watch with my mom. I don’t know how many books I’ll be able to read at this point because after surgery sometimes it’s hard to read, but when I have my follow-up radiation treatment… I’ll need a good classic that I can find at a used bookstore. I will have to throw away those books because they will be contaminated when I am through with them. My plan is to get some magazines and maybe one book. I will be isolated completely for 48

hours and then I will get to go home and be isolated again. I can have visitors for about 30 min and they have to stay at least 3-4 ft. from me. No hugs. I’ll have to schedule my visits if people aren’t too scared to be around me.

Anyway, what movies do you suggest? and give me a reason why I should watch them with my

mom.

Also recommendations for the classics, short ones that I can read in two days.

Responses

  1. I just read the Stranger in one day, but it’s not exactly uplifting. Persuasion is a short Jane Austen, but you don’t like her. Vonnegut’s books are usually quite short and easy to read. Steinbeck also has a lot of short books–of Mice and Men is good (but again–not uplifting!).

    I will think about movies!

  2. Movies: What about teen classics such as 10 Things I Hate about You, Clueless, Heathers, and Pretty in Pink? Or have an Ethan Hawke film fest and watch Before Sunrise, Before Sunset, Reality Bites, and Dead Poet’s Society. Or funny movies like Office Space and the 40-year-old Virgin. I remember you loved that one. I’m sure it’s just as good as ever. Ooh, or old movies like Gone with the Wind, the Sound of Music, and the Swiss Family Robinson!

  3. I love Rebecca’s movie suggestions, particularly the 80s film fest one! The Jane Austen Book Club is a perfect movie for a mom and daughter to watch together.

  4. I agree that Vonnegut books are easy to read in a couple of days, and they are also easy to find used at the book store.

    I also like Rebecca’s Ethan Hawke film fest suggestion. The movies I always watch when I’m trying to recover from something are Kill Bill, especially volume II, and Amelie. It might be too much work to read subtitles, though.


Leave a Reply

Categories

