Posted by: paigeturner123 | November 7, 2009

Home Sweet Home!


I was discharged from the hospital yesterday around 3:30. It took them about 2.5 hours after my doctor took my drain out and told me I was going home to get everything together. I guess my doctor did not tell them (by word of mouth) that I was being discharged. I think it was just put into the computer and if the nurse etc. didn’t check it they would have missed it. She didn’t realize that I was able to go home!

I got home around 4 p.m. and it was just so nice being in my own place. I instantly felt comfortable and happy. I took a short nap and then Radcliffe brought dinner over and we watched a couple of old The Office’s on TV ( I know, that doesn’t really make sense, but we watched re-runs from The Office). Last night I pretty much fell asleep on the couch at 8:30 and woke up only a few times to adjust and take some tylenol. It makes a big difference when you get some sleep!

Today I have felt really good most of the day. I had some visitors (Andy, Audrey, Rebecca, Lynne and Mike!) for about 45 min. and was getting tired about 30 min. into it. Lynne asked me if I was getting tired and I had to confess that I was. They all left around noon and I relaxed some more until lunch and a movie. I watched The Proposal with my mom. My co-worker had suggested it. I actually really liked the movie! Seriously, Rebecca, you should watch it. I got teary and laughed all at the same time. My laughing “voice” is little odd still, but each day it is getting better and stronger.

Tonight we are getting thai food and watching another movie, Revolutionary Road. When Radcliffe comes over … right now!

It’s been raining like crazy today! I want to go for a walk tomorrow though, no matter what.

Responses

  1. I really like Revolutionary Road but I don’t know that it has the laugh-factor going for it. Prepare to get depressed. And I’m going to watch the Proposal one day–I don’t care what anyone says!

  2. It was so great to see you; you look fabulous! šŸ™‚

  3. Glad you had a good day. I think I over did it a bit, which is probably why I am awake at 2;30 in the morning. I would have gone crazy if I had to wait 2.5 hrs. to leave the hospital after the doctor said I could. Ah the advantages of a small town!

  4. I finally was able to go in to read your recent entries on your blog. It is very difficult for me to read since I don’t want you to have to deal with any of this. You are my child–I know you are 32–and it tears my heart out each time I realize that there is so little I can do to help you. You are so strong and I am proud to have you as my daughter. I am so grateful that we are close and that you are comfortable asking me to be with you. I feel so blessed. Love, Mom


Leave a Reply

Categories

