Posted by: paigeturner123 | January 30, 2010

It’s turning into a novel


Some of you know that I have been writing here and there since I was in grade school. I have finished a draft of a novel (which needs some MAJOR revisions) and have been working on something shorter, a novella. It’s slow going because I know that I’m missing something. Each time I come back for revisions, I write another scene that makes the manuscript more interesting and if it is keeping me interested, I think that’s a good thing. I reread it every couple of months and add scenes to it.

I started this novella about 3-4 years ago. It was a short story and I really loved the two main characters and the overall feel of the story. A lot of it takes place in a cemetery, and many of you know, I love cemeteries. One of the main character’s has liver cancer and the other is an adult oncology nurse. In light of my recent cancer news, I feel like I have more insight into what some cancer patients feel throughout the process of their diagnoses. I know liver cancer is quite different from thyroid cancer, but the emotional implications are similar and I’m feeling a very strong drive to write this novel. Yes, now I think I’m turning it into a novel. I have over 18,000 words, not yet novel status, but the more I revise the more I write. this is a story that I truly believe in and I think that is one of the most important things to have when you are writing. I’ve got this deep seated conviction about this story, that I need to write it and get it out of my system. It’s a good feeling and that’s why I love writing. My characters are so familiar to me they are like good friends; I want to help get through the problems that they are facing, even if it is death.

Making time to write never felt better. And it doesn’t always feel good.

Responses

  1. I’m so glad you are writing again!! Mom

  2. SO excited for you. It’s nice to have passion about something you enjoy. Good for you!

    AND I had no idea you loved cemeteries…ME TOO. No joke. I love to walk them and read them. Every trip I go on I find a local old cemetery to browse. We must explore an old PDC cemetery together with some coffee sometime =)


Leave a Reply

Categories

