Posted by: paigeturner123 | March 7, 2010

Virus!


OK, I won’t rant too much, but I will say that I had a great time in NYC, but I got a really bad virus and have been sick for the past two weeks. I am finally starting to feel normal again. I am still coughing a lot, but I am hoping that will go away by the end of this week.

I’ve really been trying to pay attention to what eat, especially since this cancer diagnoses. I’ve been cooking more and making sure I don’t eat a lot of processed or canned foods. I really think our environment and the way our food is regulated has caused more illnesses than we know. I won’t belabor the point, but it’s just something I’ve been thinking about and realizing that I need to really pay attention to.

This past weekend I was not able to go out and hang out with my friends (I missed Rebecca’s book launch, which disappointed me) because I was still so stuffed up and tired, but I was able to do a little cooking. I made a really good Italian Orzo salad that I could eat if I ever have to go back on the Low Iodine Diet. Today I made a really good (a sweeter alternative to the Orzo salad) quinoa salad. Let me know if you want me to post the recipes. I got both from a Vegetarian Times magazine.

My next cooking endeavor is going to be some Dahl in my slow cooker. I’m going to use red lentils for it. I even made banana bread last weekend, but I didn’t have enough bananas so it wasn’t quite banana-ee enough!

It’s actually been nice just staying home. I mean, I feel a lot better because I’ve been able to rest and read a lot. Now, I just need to get back to the gym! I have been coughing so much that I haven’t felt comfortable going to the gym, but I’ll be back in full swing on Tuesday (Monday is book group).

I’ll be updating this weekly again too. I was too tired and out of it to write on this thing.

To Health!

Responses

  1. To Health!! Mom

  2. Hi there, I’d love to get the recipe for your salads, I am trying to change how I eat as well – its not so easy. I’d love to share my banana bread recipe with you – found it online and requires alot of bananas šŸ™‚

    • On my next post I will post those recipes. Probably later tonight or tomorrow evening I’ll get those posted. Thanks for the comment and I’ll check out your blog too!

  3. Get well soon!

    And post those recipes if you feel like it!


Leave a Reply

Categories

