Posted by: paigeturner123 | April 5, 2010

Champagne after book club


So, I’m sitting here in my apartment thinking back on the book club discussion. This time it was my book pick, Never Let me Go, by Kazuo Ishiguro. This means I hosted it and I get the left-over stuff, hence the champagne.

One thing I really like about being in a book group is… even if you think you picked a “bad book” usually someone likes it or the book can generate enough strong opinions to talk about it. I don’t know if I would call Never Let Me Go an “bad book”. It brought up a lot of very interesting topics that one doesn’t think about on a regular basis or even necessarily think is possible. I’m being intentionally vague here, in case someone out there wants to read the book. I was disappointed in the book for a couple of reasons, but my disappointment was another book clubbers enjoyment. In any case, if you have read the book, NPR has a nice little (5 min) interview with Ishiguro you should listen to. If you have not read it, don’t listen to the interview… spoiler alert!

Also, I found out that this book is in production to be a movie and Kiera Knightly is going to play the main character.

In health news, I have a doctor’s appointment on Thursday. I don’t really think anything new will come up. We just have to watch and wait to see if the left side of my neck is cancer free and whether or not the spot on my lung turns into anything or if it was just irritation. I’m sure that eventually I’ll have to do some more testing, but since thyroid cancer is so slow growing and I am feeling pretty good we just have to sit tight! No expectations.

Responses

  1. Mary was just asking me what book you were currently reading–now I can tell her. It does sound like you are feeling a little better today–for that I am very thankful. Maybe the new dosage is finally starting to kick in. Love, Mom


Leave a Reply

Categories

