Posted by: paigeturner123 | September 12, 2010

Updates


OK, I’ll start by saying I am not going to apologize for not posting in the past two months. I’ve been busy playing soccer, reading for two book groups and getting back to writing for a writing group. Apparently I’m a group person. I just hope this doesn’t mean I will be going into a group home anytime soon… I’m not ready for that sort of thing!

I had a doctor’s appointment last week with my endocrinologist. It was the first time I met her and I really liked her. She gave me lots of details on how we are going to manage and monitor my stuff. I was sad to find out that I have to have a whole body scan in January or February and in preparation for it I will have to get off my medication. What this means, for those of you who don’t know, is that I will be hypo thyroid for about 6 weeks. Hypo thyroid is not fun, or so I’ve heard. It feels like you have the flu and you are very tired all the time. You can’t remember anything and some people lose hair and gain weight! UGH! On top of that I will have to be on my low-iodine diet again for two weeks. It’s because of that stupid little 3 mm nodule that showed up on my first whole bodyscan. lame. The CT scan showed it as being gone, but my endo wants to be ABSOLUTELY sure. I’m glad though I want to be careful and on top of this crap too. So, if there is still something there I will go right into RAI treatment again. Oi! which means isolation for a week.

That’s all for now. I have been feeling really good and know that this scan has to happen and I’ll just deal with it!

Responses

  1. Any further updates? How are you doing? I am going through thyroidectomy next week. 🙂

    • Hi Deborah,

      Thanks for commenting! Nothing new to report about thyroid stuff. I have my scans scheduled for the first week in February. Until then, I just want to make sure I am in good shape and am eating right. I am starting on a new writing schedule so I will be updating my blog more regularly starting tomorrow! Good luck with your thyroidectomy! If you have any questions, I’m happy to answer them.


Leave a Reply

Categories

