Posted by: paigeturner123 | December 19, 2010

Hypo-thyroid-keep accepting


OK, so I “get” to stop taking my medication on Wednesday the 22nd!  This should be interesting.  I will be taking another medication that is supposed to combat the effects of not taking my levothyroxine.  It’s called Cytomel.  I think I will have to take it twice a day (I hope I remember that!).

Before I do that I will have to take a blood test to make sure my TSH levels are OK.  I changed my medication dosage again.  Feeling really good though.  I think we got to the right dose.  I’m taking two different doses M-Th is the higher dose and F-Sun is the lower.

I’ve been doing pretty OK considering the way my mind sort of runs away with things. I saw a movie a couple weeks ago that triggered some emotional reactions.  It was about clones who were created to donate their organs for people with terminal illnesses and things like cancer. I didn’t realize how it had impacted me at the time, but then I got a little freaked out about my upcoming tests. For me, this whole thing has been largely emotional/psychologically trying. I really haven’t had any major physical complications (weight gain, hair loss).  I’ve mostly had to deal with anxiety and depression. Even those have not been able to take hold of me for long.  A week here and there, but that is when I really need support from people.  Luckily, I have people in my life who are there for me.

Needless to say, I’m worried about the upcoming Whole Body Scan and hope that I come out clear.  If not, I know that I will go back into isolation for a week (including a 1-2 night hospital stay). I’ve never gone hypo before so I don’t know what to expect.  My Thyroid nurse says I will have 2-3 weeks that I will feel like I have the flu and probably be pretty tired. Oh, and I have to be on the Low Iodine Diet for 2 weeks too! I can keep wishing that these weren’t things that I need to think about, but that is not my reality.  I have to think about this and go through with the testings that come with it. I have to accept the uncertainty of life and keep accepting that. I must accept that I have to enjoy my life as much as I can. Especially when I am feeling well. If I don’t have that, I’m not sure what there is.

Responses

  1. I’m glad you have people who are there for you too.

    What’s the LID? Are you going to be on the lid of something?

    • I’ve updated my blog post so you will understand what the LID is. you will become extremely familiar with it so I wouldn’t worry too much about it yet! And thanks for supporting me!

  2. Looks like you are an expert in this field, you got some great points there, but you’ll want to add a facebook button to your blog. I just bookmarked this article, although I had to complete it manually. Simply my $.02 🙂

    – Daniel


Leave a Reply

Categories

