Posted by: paigeturner123 | December 31, 2010

Low Iodine Diet round 2!


So I’m going to share with you my Lid menu for the next round of Lid. I will be on it for 18 days this time and I want to be a bit more prepared than I was last time. I am a pescatarian (who eats eggs) so my options for protein are limited to freshwater fish, eggs, nuts and beans.

Last time I was on the diet I did not have enough variety prepared and I got really frustrated and CRANKY! I am hoping to cut down on that this time around, especially since I will be completely off my medication this time. I was able to get thyrogen injections last time.

OK, so here are some important points to help you understand this diet a bit better, but you can also see my earlier blog post for more information.

• No kidney beans, navy beans, or black eyed peas
• Basmati rice is best for this diet.
• I have to limit my grain and rice intake. The iodine content depends on the iodine content of the region where the grain was grown.
• The diet is a low-iodine diet, Not a low sodium diet. Remember: Low iodine has nothing to do with sodium. Sodium is in most foods. Table salt is sodium chloride, not sodium.

So, the things that I am going to prepare ahead of time are:
Lentil soup (using balsamic vinegar to give it some tang, freeze)
Make and freeze bags of black beans (or white beans)
Make tomato sauce (freeze or keep for up to a week in refrigerator)
Tomatoes
Garlic
Basil
Non-iodized salt

banana muffins

Chocolate cake
3 cups flour
5 tablespoons cocoa
2 cups sugar
2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
¾ cup plus 3 tablespoons oil
2 tablespoons vinegar
1 tbsp vanilla
2 cup cold water
Combine first 5 ingredients. Add oil, vinegar, vanilla, and cold water. Mix slightly with mixer or by hand. Bake in 9 x 13 inch pan for 35-40 min at 350 degrees.

No-bake cookies (for baby shower while I’m on LID)
1 cup sugar
1 cup unsalted peanut butter
Pinch of non-iodized salt
4 tbsp oil or vegetable shortening
1/3 unsweetened cocoa
3 cups oats
You can adjust to your liking (more pb or coca etc)
Stir first 5 ingredients over low heat. When it is mixed well and creamy, add oats ½ cup at a time. Drop on waxed paper till cool… enjoy!

Peanut butter cookies (freeze)
1 cup peanut butter (unsalted)
1 cup sugar
2 egg whites
Mix ingredients. Roll into small balls and place on ungreased cookie sheet. Press with fork. Bake at 350 degrees for 10-12 minutes!)

Bread or pizza crust
In large mixing bowl, combine the following:
½ ounce yeast
2 cups warm water
Mix with for. Then add:
2 teaspoons non-iodized salt
2 teaspoons sugar
4 cups flour
Let dough rise 5 minutes. Then spread on 12 x 18 baking sheet using Pam or canola oil. Garnish as you please. Rosemary or Mrs. Dash. Bake at 400 degrees for 20 min or until golden brown.

Vegan pesto
4 cloves garlic
6 table spoons pine nuts, non-iodized salt, pepper
1 large handful fresh basil
6 table spoons extra virgin olive oil
Throw ingredients into blender, blend them, and then toss them into fresh spaghetti

Things to make on the fly!
Smoothies
Use: frozen berries, juice, sorbet, bananas
Salad dressing (balsamic vinegar and oil with garlic)
Salad fixings (greens, unsalted nuts, apple, grapes)
Mayonnaise (make with egg whites)

Things to have on hand:
Corn tortillas (without iodine)
Matzo crackers (unsalted)
Trader Joe’s apple butter
Unsalted peanut butter
Potatoes (make sure to peel before eating/cooking)
Unsalted nuts
Fruit and nut bars
Fruit salad
Eggs for (egg white omlete/scrambled eggs)
Potatoes (will have to peel before cooking)
greens (for salads)
veggies for stir fry or side

That’s it. I’ll keep you posted on how the cooking goes.  I am blocking out 2 days to get it all done… hope it turns out OK.

Responses

  1. I am so proud of you for remembering to have things done ahead of time. You know who you get that from!! I do think you will feel less stressed when you know you can grab a snack or fix a meal after working all day without running to the grocery store and then having to prepare them. You won’t be able to just open a can or grab a bag of chips. Having things in the freezer is a great idea. You really do have control of this part of your life. Love, Mom

  2. Thank you so much for this information. I am a newbie to this diet and am very grateful to have hands on information. Best of luck to you!
    Beth

    • Glad you found this helpful. I just got news that I am on my 3rd cancer free year! I wish you the best as well. Christi


Leave a Reply

Categories

